The 7-P’s

Time to get right

Do you know what the 7 P’s are? Well I do and after running the Spartan Beast Glen Rose this past weekend, I realized some things and this was all I could think about. During the whole race, which was actually shortened due to flooding, all I could think about was writing this blog. Not so much to complain and bitch about how bad I did or the “whoa is me mentality” but to remind myself to not do this again. Never take injuries for granted and think you can just power on through them (mind over matter, sometimes is not wise) and I learned this lesson again.

Proper Planning and Preparation Prevents Piss Poor Performance

Proper Planning and Preparation

I have no one to blame but myself. Basically if you stop running and sit on the couch, do not expect to have good results. My previous race before this, I actually did pretty well, Battlefrog Austin on 10/3, I felt good and redeemed myself from that disaster in Chicago. I finished top 10 and didn’t really think I was injured. But I have been having this nagging back problem since February and going to my chiro is what fixes it.  Well I was in pain a few days later and I decided to do nothing. I had also been experiencing what can only be described as a pulled muscle in my hamstring, which ran down behind my knee.  I also tweaked my groin or something in that area or maybe my labrum is acting up again, either way it has been painful at times. Of course my infinite wisdom told me to sit and rest and not do a thing. Well the week of the race I went and tried to get fixed 3-days before the race.

I also didn’t get in my flow of pre-race rituals. I didn’t get sleep, I didn’t hydrate on Friday and I didn’t get my pre-race meal right.  So basically noting seems to be in my favor driving down to the race.

Prevents Piss Poor Performance

Well piss poor performance is an understatement. This race sucked, I was in pain after about 5 miles in (10 mile race) and struggled to keep a pace, I walked some and my leg was bothering me a lot. I felt like I had absolutely no energy. I failed the spear throw and that pissed me off and then I failed the rig at the end. I was just so over this race, I was ready for it to be done, I never fail the rig, man that pissed me off.

I know, I know, I shouldn’t whine, I am sure my results were still pretty good to some people.  However, I hate it when I feel like I did bad and especially when I know there is more I can do to prevent it. So note to all of you out there, sometimes you can’t just show up and be your best. No matter how great you think you are, training and nutrition have to be on point.

Okay this is the end of my rant…I was disappointed, but this made me realize my injuries maybe more serious than I realized and I need to go get fixed.

Leave a Reply

