Things I Think – Thursday July 4th Edition!

 Marriage, Flags, Pizza, Coffee and Star Wars

There seems to be such an influx of news this past week, it is hard to not get caught up in some of it. Regardless, you will get my two cents so love me or leave me. Yes it is July 4th weekend and there are bound to be a bunch of fireworks here so keep reading!

Marriage

circle-dartGay Marriage, seems to be the topic of the week so let’s just dive right into that. Here are my thoughts…I honestly do not care. At the end of the day it really doesn’t affect me or my everyday life and it doesn’t threaten my well being and honestly why do you care so much if you are against it? It’s not your life and would you like it if everyone judged your life? I really don’t care what the bible says, so stop quoting scripture to me, again it doesn’t affect you does it? For every quote you find, I could probably find more. If you take this one thing literally then wouldn’t you have to take everything that way? I mean you can’t pick and choose what want to abide by. Seriously, I mean we would be stoning people for divorces and I could bring up several items which just do not make literal sense, it just can’t happen. So leave religion out of it, if two people love each other and want to get married, more power to them, I don”t care about their sex or race for that matter. Love is love and who are we to stand in the way or judge people or actually condemn them. No one is forcing you to go to the weddings, no one is going to make you participate or get involved in anything you don’t want to.

Speaking of Marriage, my parents just celebrated their 47th wedding anniversary, all I can say is congrats to them. Sure they have their ups and downs like most couples, but you know what? That is effing amazing! I hope I find someone to love and who loves me back and I can spend that amount of time with. There is still time for me, I mean I do plan on living well over 100!

Confederate Flag

circle-dartWith all of this talk about the confederate flag, I had an interesting conversation with my father about it. Having a 26 year age gap can sometimes be very enlightening to get the perspective from someone who is from a totally different era than I am. So he asked me this simple question “what does the flag mean to you?”

It struck me as an odd question but then I stated thinking what does it mean to me? Because I have several thoughts that go through my mind and as I started to answer with a historical meaning, I was interrupted and again asked, “not what you think it stands for, but when you see it what do you think?”  Before I could answer I got a brief history lesson on the civil war (which I actually knew most of it) and then I started to think…when I see that flag what do I think of?

The first thing that comes to mind is the civil war and the confederates, but after that, I mean after I think of that small fraction of what the history of the flag is, I immediately have different thoughts and you are going to be shocked. You see, when I see that flag, all I really can think about are what we call redneck hillbillies who live in the mountains, drink moonshine, are typically prejudice, have no dental plan and wear overalls without shirts. Yes that is what I think of, uneducated people who in my opinion only make this world a worse place because of the miniscule beliefs they have. So no, in my mind I don’t want to be associated with those people, because typically they contribute about nothing to society.

quote   What does the flag mean to you?

Again this is just my first impression when asked that question. Now I do understand the history behind it and why some people want to have it in their lives because of heritage or maybe they like the design and whistle Dixie. I am not saying all people are like what I described but at the end of the day, that is what the flag means to me.

Photo Shoot

Recently a couple of my friends had photo shoots. One was for women over 40 and how sexy they still are and the others are just in the fitness industry or doing the bodybuilding/swimsuit competition stuff. Anyway, more and more I see all of these friends on Facebook with these kick ass pictures. Just this week I was asked for my Harley to be used in a shoot, someone wanted to have some pictures on a motorcycle…of course I said yes. Now how sad is that? My motorcycle will be in a legit photo shoot before me…I want a photo shoot!

Workout Pics

Here is just going to be a small rant I have, but mostly I just giggle. I follow and I am friends with a ton of OCR, fitness and athletic people. Now I understand if your job is a personal trainer and you post workouts for people to do, but most of us have jobs and workout when we can. But Lord Jesus do you have to post a pic every time you go to the gym? Do you really need to check in at the gym on Facebook everyday? I mean I get it, but you know what, I am in OCR and I am a competitive person, but I am not going to post pictures of me running or working out or whatever, I mean there is more to me than that. To me it is a given that I workout right? Do I really need to tell you? Seriously, I don’t see people posting that they are at work everyday? I mean I post a bunch of selfies and sure I do handstands if I am some place cool, but I really only post workout stuff if it was really cool. Here is my approach to all of this social media stuff…each platform is a snapshot of my life and yes I do post a ton of my race pictures because that is what I do for an activity obstacle warriorbut there is more to me than working out and running. That is what I want to start seeing from people, let me see your life as you celebrate it, let us all get to know you and not your sweaty gym pics.

On a side note, I am extremely excited to announce my ankle is healing and I started working out again, here is a pic! P.S. working out again makes me happy!

Star Wars

Star Wars makes me happy. The end! I attended a concert the other night where the Fort Worth Orchestra played start wars music and they finished with the main theme song. Sorry about the video (sorry it’s only on Facebook right now)…the fireworks totally threw me off. So yes, we had lightening, rain, fireworks, and a laser show…so cool!

 Coffee

In case you didn’t know, I love coffee. I start with my day with it every single day and if you want to show me mad love, then do it with coffee! I love going to new cafe’s so it’s not just all Starbucks and honestly the way to my heart is through coffee…just saying.

The love of Pizza

I know I have a section of my blog which is dedicated to finding the ultimate cheesebuger (frankly I am way behind on my reviews) but in case you didn’t know, I also love pizza.  I mean I seriously love the pie! I could eat pizza everyday! I am open to most types, but I am a meat lovers type of guy and I love to try new places or even the pizza trucks! So stay tuned for the best pizza section, because I am on a search for the best slice now!

And by the way, just throwing this out there, but I thought I was in heaven when I met a girl who loves pizza as much as me, runs, does OCR’s, likes adventure and travels…but you really had me at pizza!

Understanding women

yes or noI know what you are thinking…there is no understanding them. Just as I am sure they beat there heads against the wall trying to figure us out too. But at the end of the day I don’t remember trying to date someone being so difficult. What ever happened to the days when it was just a simple yes or no? Maybe that is what I need to do, go old school and write a note!

circle-lightbulbFun Fact – I hate making my bed, but have me over as a guest and I’ll make my bed every-time so you don’t think I’m a slob.

Long Distance

When I was kid it seemed like a long distance relationship was when you were not at school or she lived in the next town. Remember I grew up in a time with corded telephones, we had one main phone and it was in the kitchen, geez that was hard.

But these days I don’t consider it to be much of a big thing. I mean whether you are 4-hours or 20-hours away, I truly believe where there is a will there is a way (of course there must also be a connection). So I pose this question poll to everyone…

circle-question  Worth the ride or just avoid the roller-coaster?

I tend to think that if the person is worth it, then I go for it. Once I want to spend time with someone, I will rearrange my schedule to spend that time. Of course it helps that I can be very mobile with my company, but still, I look at this way, you really never know unless you give it a shot. So if I spend time and money traveling and it doesn’t work out, well then that happens. But I can promise you I will have a ton of memories to cherish and good times will be had. But also don’t get me wrong, I am still going to do my races, ride my motorcycles, workout and do things, I am just going to try and find a creative way to do it together, because no one like eating alone at Applebee’s!

Megalodon

So I think I am going to use this one from now on whenever some asks me what my biggest fear is! I mean I had to look it up and all I could think was…you couldn’t just tell me a big ass shark?

Music

So I like these tunes this week because most of them have a cool summer vibe to them and they make me happy!

Magic – Let your hair down

Pharrell Williams – Come get it Bae

Slighty Stoopid – One bright Day

Heymous Molly – Life’s a Beach

Bonus:

Miguel – Coffee (F***ing)

Okay I hear this just this morning and it made me laugh and I couldn’t resist since I do love me some coffee!

Leave a Reply

