Things I Think – Thursday Birthday Edition

Birthday Week in Retrospect

So another birthday is upon me and I love birthdays, I don’t shy away from them and in fact, I love to celebrate them. I know most people claim to celebrate for a week or weeks at a time, but this year I literally did celebrate for an entire week.  I made a list of fun things to do in Dallas and Fort Worth and I did them. Along the way there was also a few impulse decisions. So here we go!

Before I do thought I do have a couple of thoughts…I mean it is “Things I Think” after all…so I was reading this magazine the other day and I saw this article and it really hit home with me and made me think a lot about where I am in my life.

circle-dartSo this guy is having his 40th birthday and all he wants to do is run a marathon and try to get a PR. But his family has other plans, his brother and wife arranged for people in his life to run a mile with him. Let that sink in for a minute. So there were 26 people who ran a mile with him, which included his parents, brothers, cousins, friends from life which included college buddies and lastly his wife and kids. I thought this was so awesome, at every mile marker a new person jumped out and just started running with him. Needless to say he was shocked and he didn’t PR.

But that just got me thinking…I don’t think I have 26 people in my life that would come run a mile a me. Don’t get me wrong, I am sure you could scrounge up some people, but I am not sure I have a tribe of 26. I have a lot of acquaintances but not a lot of close friends. I think I need to fix that. I mean if I died tomorrow, who would come to my funeral? Ahhh that is a totally different post!

So on to my week of fun!

Day 9 – Top Golf

Day 8 – Rock Climbing

Day 7 – Karaoke

Day 6 – ROT Rally, rode my motorcycle 250 miles, Rode a Mechanical Bull, 6th Street ATX

Day 5 – ROT Rally, rode my motorcycle 250 miles, had pie!

Day 4 – K1 – Adult go-carts, Zero Gravity

Day 3 – Rest Day

Day 2 – Rained out, couch & movie night

Day 1 – IFLY – indoor skydiving

Birthday – Fed the homeless breakfast, got a haircut, sports massage and dinner with my parents!

Day After Birthday – Ran Spartan Sprint at Dallas Cowboys Stadium

I was going to write a brief synopsis of each event, but then I decided not to. Each had its own adventure and memories attached and video clips were taken, you can see that a little later.

circle-lightbulbFun Fact – I currently have 1,276 friends on Facebook and 209 of them posted on my wall, 7 more just sent a private message which means 216 people wished me a happy birthday which is 16.9% of my friends…

So this fun fact wasn’t meant to be upset about not getting more wishes, actually quite the opposite, this is more than I have ever had. But it poses the question, how do I have over 1000 friends that I don’t know? I mean I replied to everyone who sent a wish and I know most of them or have met 95% of them, and the ones I do not are pretty much OCR people. Things that make you go hmmm…

circle-dartNo official cake for my birthday, but I did get a cupcake mousse type thingy and a homemade chocolate pie!

circle-dartNot a ton of gifts, but that happens when you get older and you are single, but I did buy myself a kick ass new pair of sunglasses and I am going on this life changing trip in 2016!

circle-dartAwesome random things that happened to me on my birthday:

  • My 4yr old niece and my 2 yr old nephew wished me happy birthday by video!
  • A friend who can’t sing (self admittedly thinks she can’t), called me and sang to me!
  • My good friends kids, 10 yr old, 7 yr old & 5 yr old all sang to me on video!
  • I made 250+ sandwiches.
  • My birthday dinner this year was Tacos!

As I gear up for a new trip around the sun, headed for the next age group in racing, several things hit home with me this week. Some of them are great and some make you think about decisions and life choices you have made. It’s been one hell of a year for me, a lot of change, growth and self discovery. I have met  so many new people, made new friends, loved, lost and I feel pretty darned good.

Music

I almost forgot this section this week, I struggled to think of the music to post. I have listened to Lifehouse nonstop this past week and searching for messages within each song and applying them to the current day life I have. But then I happened to put the playlist on random and this came on and it actually says everything I wanted to say about this extraordinary week.

Ron Pope – Sometimes

My name is Travis and I talk to strangers!

Leave a Reply

