2015 Goals

Ringing in the New!

my-goalsEvery year we get to this point and the new year resolutions start rolling in.  I have been victim to it before as well, we all commit to doing things that we really have no intentions of working on past the month of January.  So this year I have decided to commit to accomplishing goals for the entire year and then updating said goals every quarter to let you know how I am doing in my struggle to maintain accountability to myself.

So without further ado, here are my 2015 goals:

Updated 4/1/15, Updated 7/1/15

1. Laugh Hard

I want to laugh as hard as possible, laughter is my release, it is what helps me cope with the real world and problems.  I know that if I laugh hard all year, the world will be a better place. So if you know me well, you know I am full of jokes and sarcasm, don’t get all upset, that is just my personality. I am really just a big kid, but I can be serious when I need to be.

QTR 1 Update- I can honestly say that for the first three months of the year I have been laughing so hard it’s crazy. I am loving life right now, I have great friends and special people in my life who keep me smiling on a daily basis. I’m pretty sure you can see through all my pics and it’s not just a happy show on social media, I am one happy lucky guy!

QTR 2 Update- I guess you could say the past three months brought about less laughter. April and May were brutal with injuries, illnesses and heartbreak. However, June snapped me out of it. I mean how could I not smile and laugh in same month as my birthday? New friends and fun times all month definitely have me one happy camper again!

QTR 3 Update-

End of the year Update-

2. Love Harder

2014 was such a whirlwind of a year, I learned so much about myself and and what I am looking for in a partner in crime. I didn’t love very hard at all, I know I didn’t give my all in my marriage and thus it ended in divorce. I had another person with whom I loved that I also didn’t give it my all and I spent most of 2014 not loving very much.

So this year I am not going to guard my heart, I am going to give it to you if you deem worthy enough to penetrate my circle. I wear my heart on my sleeve and if I only get a few months or a lifetime to love you, I will do it without hesitation. I tend to leap before I look and my favorite quote is:

quote    I would rather learn what it feels like to burn, than to feel nothing at all ~ Ron Pope

QTR 1 Update- What a first three months! Well you guessed it, I gave my heart away and fell in love. Definitely was not intended but sometimes you meet someone who makes you feel the warm and fuzzies and you can’t help but fall in love with them. No idea what the future holds, it is definitely hard being in a long distance relationship (4hrs away), along with the hustle and bustle of everyday life. But I through my heart out there and I am happier than ever!

QTR 2 Update- I am not sure what is actually funnier, the fact that I last updated this on April Fool’s Day or that the following day is when I was dumped by the woman I was in love with? Anyway, yes the last three months have definitely been different than expected. I would say there was not a lot of love out there for the first couple of months (APR/MAY) but again June is another story.

I know I wear my heart on my sleeve and I jump right in, but sometimes moving on is harder than expected and just when you think you are, you are not. But I have met some amazing people the past few months and sometimes someone you lean on and talk to can become someone to help you get over that hump. Am I saying I am in love again? No not that, but I am always open to the possibility and there might be someone who I would definitely like to spend more time with to see where it would go, because that would be such a trill ride.

But I also have made new friends who I also enjoy spending time with, do I love them, yes and no, some people are easier to love at a friendship level than others. I have been able to reestablish old friendships that went to the wayside and now I have incredible bonds with them and I also made amends with old friends who I may have hurt in the past. So yes, on the friend front I was able to love more than previously.

QTR 3 Update-

End of the year Update-

3. More Handstands

So I started doing handstands last fall and it totally spiraled into me doing them everywhere I go. So instead of your normal “I am here at destination X, you will see me hand-standing at destination X! My goal is to not only handstand in some cool places, but also when I am not traveling post at least once a week. #HeWhoStandsOnHands #Handstands2015

QTR 1 Update- I started out so good! I think I got the first 5 or 6 weeks in a row of various handstands. I am sure there are also a few I didn’t post, but I was there on a weekly basis. So chalk this up to a failure, I was only good on 50% of the goal.  Time to get back to standing on my hands! (it should be noted that I did injure my back in Feb and handstands were tricky)

QTR 2 Update- One of the few things I have managed to do! Handstands Across America started in April, continued in May and now I am going to get them all! Birthday week provided a ton of handstands, so I definitely made up for the lack of them the first few months.

QTR 3 Update-

End of the year Update-

4. Walk on Hands

So my old college buddy says to me “that’s cute, you can stand on your hands, how about you walk on them!”, so #ChallengeAccepted! I can already go a couple of feet, but I really want to work on my form and get this down, so I can me a circus trick at parties!

QTR 1 Update- So nothing to report here, I never even really practiced much. I definitely need to work on this more.

QTR 2 Update- I started working on this, not as much as I should but I can walk a few feet. It’s not the prettiest thing ever, but I am getting there.

QTR 3 Update-

End of the year Update-

5. Learn to Play Guitar

I have never been able to play an instrument, well I take that back, I did play the piano for about a year as a kid, I can’t read music very well so I ended writing what the notes were on all of the sheet music so I could play it. Well I have forgotten everything, but I would love to be able to play this acoustic guitar I have. It would be so cool to just be able to sit down and play whatever.  Since I love to sing, it would just be campfire cool!

QTR 1 Update- Nothing to report here either, I never even looked into what is required to do this.  I guess I will chalk it up to just being to darn busy enjoying all of the other things in life!

QTR 2 Update- Still not started this one, but hey I still have 6-months right? Can anyone teach me? hint hint

QTR 3 Update-

End of the year Update-

6. Top 5 in the Spartan Open

I didn’t by any means intend for this to happen but as of January 1st, 2015, I was sitting in 3d place in the WORLD standings. It shocked me, so I know I want to get a couple more trifectas this year so I thought why not just keep racing the opens and try to keep the points up there and go for it!

QTR 1 Update- Unfortunately I have not raced a Spartan Race yet this year, most of my events will be in May/June and Sept. So I fell to 8th place, but that isn’t too bad, first place is still within striking distance and I am only a couple hundred points behind. 

QTR 2 Update- So this goal has shifted dramatically, in fact it isn’t even a goal at all. The open points with Reebok Spartan Race have become a joke simply because most of the people in open heats seem to be dishonest and don’t do burpees. I really find it hard to believe on some of the courses that late afternoon heats with all of the people on the course and the condition of the obstacles, times are turned in faster than the morning times. I’m disgusted with this and I am not even on the Spartan koolaid either. My goals on this have just shifted to running the elite heats to compete with the Masters. I seem to fit in pretty well there.

So I believe I am down to 9th or so in the male open point series overall, but I am only running open when I walk a race or run with others to have fun. No more competitive open runs for me.

QTR 3 Update-

End of the year Update-

7. Win more age groups in races

The days where I can compete with 20 & 30 years olds are sadly past me, but I think I can compete pretty well with people my own age. So I am challenging myself to get better and win my age groups in what ever race I attempt!

QTR 1 Update- So I have raced 3-races this quarter. I finished in the top 5 overall in the Polar Dash, 2nd in Age Group at the Atlas race, 2nd OA & 1st AG at The Original Mudrun and a big DNF at Battlefrog. I’ll take that, seeing as I took off the month of February.

QTR 2 Update- More racing this quarter, I officially ran 9 races, only 6 were competitively. I have yet to run a race since April where I have not been 100%, which is frustrating since I was primed for great races in Austin for both weekends of the Spartan Race.  I rolled my ankle and have been hobbling through the races since. But here are the results of the races I did, which I am fortunate to be top 10 in every race in the Master’s division. I feel like I am on the cusp of top 3 if I can just stay healthy.

  • Battlefrog Dallas – 7th (masters elite)
  • Vegas Super – 5th (open AG)
  • ATX Super – 5th (open AG)
  • ATX Sprint – 5th (masters elite)
  • OH Sprint – 10th (masters elite)
  • Dallas Stadium Sprint  – 10th (masters elite)

QTR 3 Update-

End of the year Update-

8. Take more video

I noticed at the end of the year I hardly took and video. I took a ton of pictures, but when making an end of the year video it comprised mostly of pictures.  So this year I am going to document my travels and quirks more by taking video. Some will be posted on social media, some will not, but watch for more video this year!

QTR 1 Update- I am doing good but not great here.  Took lots of video of various things, but not much personal video or commentary video as I call it.  Most everything is athletic video at this point, I think I need to capture more of my life than just working out or running races.

QTR 2 Update- What a great past couple of months! I have a ton of video and my end of the year video is going to be EPIC! I have everything from having fun to singing to just being silly.

QTR 3 Update-

End of the year Update

9. More travel/adventure with my favorite hobbies

Over the past 13 years, I stopped doing the things I love the most. No single person is to blame, some things were not as important and somethings just got lost in the shuffle of life. I’ve decided that life really is too short to not do the things I grew up doing or the things that really make me happy. Some of these things include riding my motorcycle more, traveling around the country, riding dirt bikes, snow skiing, running races and just hanging with my good friends.

QTR 1 Update- I had a great first three months! I bought a dirt bike and went out riding once so far. I want downhill skiing in Taos, NM and it was one of the best trips of my life. Skiing was so much fun, my company was great and the roadtrip was just EPIC! Traveled to Houston and San Antonio to race and had a blast there too! There were also a couple of other cool things went to ICE, Legoland, and Aliens in Rosewell, NM! I am so looking forward to April and May, I have a ton of adventure planned!

QTR 2 Update- I definitely kept this train going the second three months of the year. I raced in Las Vegas, Ohio and down in Austin, TX. I took a killer road trip to the Ohio race and then spent 5-days in Erie, PA what a blast!

So my original travel plans did go according to plan or with how it was planned, but oh well things happen for a reason. So I went solo and found some new great people to hang out with. So other than racing what did I do?

  • Visited Graceland
  • Sang Karaoke in Nashville
  • Cedar Point in Ohio
  • Sunset on Lake Erie!
  • Indoor Skydiving
  • Adult go-carts
  • ROT Rally – Austin, TX
  • Zero Gravity

QTR 3 Update-

End of the year Update-

10. Complete the Iron Butt

added 7/1

One of the things I have wanted to do for the last 15 years or so is complete an Iron Butt ride on my Harley. What is an iron butt you ask? Well it is pretty simple. Ride 1000 miles in 24 hours, document the whole thing with their paperwork, receipt time stamps and photos. Why do this you ask? Well because you can of course! It is also to get a certificate to put on your wall of fame!

QTR 1 Update- N/A

QTR 2 Update- Having just decided I was going get this done on my way home from the ROT Rally, it is still in the planning stages! Stay tuned, but the goal is to do it in July or August.

QTR 3 Update-

End of the year Update-

11. Write a book

added 7/1

I have wanted to write a book of my travels for about 8 years now. Actually I have two in mind and one is more like a life biography of my travels and the other is cool stuff to see. So with some encouragement, I started this project on 6/1. The goal is to have it completed and out for Christmas, it would be a great gift for any motorcycle traveler!

QTR 1 Update- N/A

QTR 2 Update- Ride one is almost complete, along with all of the graphics which will be used for the book. I am behind schedule, the whole birthday week threw me behind some. Original goal was to be completed by 8/10, but I think I am redoing my timelines and it looks closet to 9/10 now.

QTR 3 Update-

End of the year Update-

Leave a Reply

