3 Men – 3 Sisters (Guest Post)

Three Men Ride to Meet Three Ladies.

By: Brett “Bubba” Blythe

My infatuation for all things motorcycle all started when I received my first dirt bike at age 10.  The Honda 50cc dirt bike, small in size large in fun.  We would take many dirt bike trips as a family that lamented my love for the two wheeled machine.  Fast forward to age 16, I received my cycle endorsement and my first road trip as a driver to Sturgis.  This trip sealed the deal for as the best way to take a vacation and see America.  We have taken vacations, small trips, big trips, pulled trailers filled with clothes and dirt bikes.  All of these trips have led the following account of my trip to Texas to ride the Three Sisters with my dad and older brother.

This trip was the first time the three of us have taken a trip together.  I live in Michigan and I flew down to Dallas to where my dad and brother live.  This was sure to be a trip for the bucket list, I was sure even before the plane left Grand Rapids that this was going to a great trip.

I have ridden some beautiful highways and byways in my day, from the Blue Ridge Mountain Parkway in North Carolina to the Black Hills of South Dakota.  I was sure that Texas being as big and beautiful as she is that she also had some great scenery to offer, and boy was I right.

The route that my brother had planned for us had us stopping at many great landmark destinations on our way to ride the Three Sisters. We saw the original Dr. Pepper plant, the Enchanted Rocks, a Castle, and many food stops recommended by the Thunder Roads magazines top 10 burger joints.  I will have to say that while the landmarks were cool the real crowd pleaser had to be the roads and views.

The Three Sisters did not disappoint with their twisty turns and their great expanses.  I can honestly say that the views and wide open spaces that are Texas are truly gorgeous.  It was a weekend of many emotions for me.  The beauty of the landscape, the excitement and thrill of challenging roads and laughter and bliss that time spent with my father and brother.

Although we had a few rainy patches that led to mocking and digital evidence that indeed I do not have great rain gear, it was truly a trip to remember.   I am glad that I had the opportunity to not only ride some great roads, see some outstanding landscapes but more importantly spend some time with my dad and brother.

Thank you Texas a great weekend and a lifetime of memories.

EAVB_VYBQYFUENL

Leave a Reply

