Things I Think – Thursday 4-15-2010 – Cancer Sucks

It seems as though my whole life we have lived with the horrible disease that is “Cancer”.  It seems odd that in my almost 39 years of life we still have not cured this awful disease. Last year my wonderful Aunt Doris was diagnosed with Breast Cancer. I have never realized that this nasty disease could hit so close to home for me.  Now I have learned of other family members generations removed who also died battling this.

A few years ago, I had a client whose niece had cancer.  I remember thinking how horrible it must be for a child 12 years old to have to go through something like that.  She battled rhabdomyosarcoma and won, when they thought she would never survive the chemo treatments.  I started wearing my Livestrong braclet then in support for her.  The only time I have ever taken it off was when it broke, so I just put on another.  Even when others ridicule me for still wearing it, thinking I only wear it as a fad, I know in my heart that I support all of those people with cancer.  I know that I am very fortunate to not be in those situations.

About a month ago, my new dog Shiner, who I rescued from the Legacy Boxer Rescue group, was diagnosed as having cancer.  He had small tumors in his eyes.  We were fortunate enough to find out, that it looked like it was contained to just his eyes and it did not spread to his lymph-nodes or lungs.  We had the tumors frozen and removed and our Dr believes he removed it all and it is all gone.  So now we just wait and see if the tumors grow back, but it looks like he is going to be fine.

Last year learning about my Aunt put things in perspective for me as far as how I really wanted to live my life.  Just like the famous Tim McGraw song “live like you’re dying”, I too wanted to never miss an opportunity to do something that I wanted to do.  So this year instead of making New Years resolutions I knew I would never keep, I make small 2010 bucket lists.  One of my pledges and commitments was to run in all the Susan G. Komen 5k runs in the Dallas area.  I know there are three for sure 4/24 (Tarrant Co.), 6/12 (Plano) & 10/16 (Dallas) and maybe Austin on 11/7 if I can make it.  Please support me and help me raise money for the cause and reach & exceed my goal.  Anything helps.  http://bit.ly/PinkWarrior

I run…for you, because you can’t

I sweat…for you, so you don’t have to

I Feel Pain…because you’re in pain

I am a PINK WARRIOR

My name is Travis and I talk to strangers

Leave a Reply

